Saturday, March 10, 2012

Under 20 Football World Cup

Brazil lifts Under 20 Football World Cup

The 18th FIFA World Under 20 World Cup 2011 tournament was played in Colombia and it was won byBrazil for the Fifth time and the first time since 2003 in UAE. Brazil was defeated by Ghana in the 2009 finals. Brazil is the second most successful team in the junior football world cup as Argentina is themost successful team winning it for the times. The FIFA Under 20 World Cup, until 2005 known as the FIFA World Youth Championship is organized by FIFA. The Championship has been awarded every two years since the first tournament in 1977 held in Tunisia.
A corresponding event for women’s teams, the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup, began in 2002 with the name “FIFA U-19 Women’s World Championship”. The age limit for the women’s competition was changed to 20 beginning with the 2006 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Championship, and the competition was renamed as a “World Cup” in 2007 in preparation for the 2008 event.

For Further Reading,
Current Affairs, Sports News


Post a Comment


View My Stats