Saturday, March 10, 2012

National Sports Awards 2011

National Sports Awards

The Government has announced the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna AwardArjuna AwardsDhyan Chnad Awards and Dronacharya Awards for the year 2011. The Selection Panel for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Award was headed by ShriDinesh Khanna, for Dronacharya Award it was headed by Shri Satpal and for Dhyan Chand Award it was headed by Secretary (Sports).
National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports.
Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, which was established in 1991-92 is given for a spectacular performance in the year under consideration which also considered as the highest sports award in India;
Arjuna award, established in 1961 is the second highest sports honour is given for consistentlyoutstanding performance for three consecutive years preceding the year of award;
Dronacharya Award is given to Coaches in sports for producing medal winners, at prestigious international sports events in the past three years and Dhyan Chand Award for life time contribution to sports development.
Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee will receive a cash prize of 7.5 lakh. Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, citations and cash prize of Rs.5 lakh each.
Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award – 2011:
Gagan Narang (Shooting) received the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award for the year 2011. He is the 5th sportsperson ever in the field of shooting to receive the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.
Arjuna Awards 2011
Normally not more than 15 Arjuna Award are to be given in any calendar year. However, the Scheme of Arjuna Awards also provides that keeping in view of the performance of Indian sportspersons in the Commonwealth, Asian games and Olympic Games during a particular year, Arjuna Awards exceeding 15 in number may be allowed with proper justification and approval of the Minister for Youth Affairs & Sports. The Committee noted that Asian Games and Commonwealth Games were held in the year 2010, wherein the performance of Indian sportsperson was exceptional. Keeping this factor in view, the Committee recommended that the number of Awards for 2011 may be exceeded beyond 15. Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports has approved the recommendation of the Selection Committee for exceeding the number of Arjuna Awards from 15 to 19 this year.
Important Arjuna Awardees
Shri Rahul BanerjeeArchery
Ms. Preeja SreedharanAthletics
Shri Vikas GowdaAthletics
Ms. Jwala GuttaBadminton
Shri M. Suranjoy SinghBoxing
Shri Zaheer SinghCricket
Shri Sunil ChhetriFootball
Shri Ashish KumarGymnastics
Shri Rajpal SinghHockey (Men)
Shri Rakesh KumarKabaddi (Men)
Ms. Tejeswini Bai V.Kabaddi (Women)
Ms. Tejaswini Ravindra SawantShooting
Shri Veerdhawal Vikram KhadeSwimming
Shri Somdev Kishore DevvarmanTennis
Shri Sanjay KumarVolleyball
Shri Ravindra SinghWrestling
Naib Subedar Katulu RavikumarWeightlifting
Ms. Wangkhem Sandhyarani DeviWushu
Shri Prasantha KaramakarSwimming Paralympics
Dronacharya Awards for 2011
Shri Inukurthi Venkateshwara RaoBoxing
Shri Devender Kumar RathoreGymnastics
Shri RamphalWrestling
Dr. Kuntal RoyAthletics
Shri Rajinder SinghHockey
Dhyan Chand Awards for 2011
Shri Shabbir AliFootball
Shri Sushil KohliSwimming
Shri RajkumarWrestling

For Further Reading,
Current Affairs, Sports Awards 2011


Post a Comment


View My Stats